Project

General

Profile

Upgrading VM1 to VM2 with provided packages » History » Version 3

Valérie Isaksen, 08/19/2011 02:21 PM

1 1 Max Milbers
h1. Upgrading VM1 to VM2 with provided packages
2 1 Max Milbers
3 1 Max Milbers
Just install VM2 over VM1. Dont uninstall VM1, or you would lose your data. The VM2 installer package is also suitable for upgrading. You need not to fear that your database data gets lost. Of course you should have a backup for emergency problems (you may use akeeba backup).
4 1 Max Milbers
5 1 Max Milbers
The migrator does not look on plugins, components or modules. So when you have vm1 extensions, you need to check first if an update for this extension is available.
6 1 Max Milbers
7 1 Max Milbers
The best order is already used, when you use the button "Migrate everything we can from VM1 to VM2". It is just using all buttons from left to right. The sequel is media, shoppergroups, users, categories, manufacturerCategories, manufacturers, products, orders.
8 1 Max Milbers
9 1 Max Milbers
When you get an error while the migration process, nothing is lost. The tools provide buttons for this. Use the "Remove Virtuemart Tables" to delete all user generated data, after that use one of the migrationtools. The migrator should be able to handle data which is already there. Because the migrator does not just copy the db data. The migrator gets the information of the old _vm_ tables and adds them to vm2 using the VM2 models. This means for exampel, when your old products used the ids from 100-500, they will have the ids 1-401 in VM2.
10 1 Max Milbers
11 3 Valérie Isaksen
The button "Reset all tables and install sampledata" deletes ALL _virtuemart_ tables and reinstalls all tables and inserts the sample data. This is like a completly new install regarding the SQL. The button "Restore System Defaults" is kind of the opposite of "Remove Virtuemart Tables". It reinstalles all VM2 information, which is normally not user generated, this are states, countries, currency, orderstatus, adminmenu,...
12 1 Max Milbers
13 1 Max Milbers
Very important! The migrator is resuming. This means the migrator stores the already ported data and does not import it twice. In theory you can press the buttons as often as you want.
14 2 Max Milbers
15 2 Max Milbers
When you have trouble and getting strange errors, please check if your toolbar.virtuemart.php is deleted.